Love means never having …

 

Love means never having to say
You’re sorry for cold feet at night
Or dancing till dawn Wednesday
Love means never having to say
Au revoir, Adios or ‘Bye
In either sunlight or moonlight
Love means never having to say
You’re sorry for cold feet at night

______________________________________________

“Love means never having to say you’re sorry” is a line from the novel and 1970 film Love Story. Love Story is a 1970 romantic drama film written by Erich Segal, directed by Arthur Hiller, and starring Ryan O’Neal and Ali MacGraw. The film, well known as a tragedy, is considered one of the most romantic of all time by the American Film Institute (#9 on the list).”

“The quotation appears twice in the film: once around the middle when MacGraw’s character Jennifer Cavilleri says it, and again as the last line in the film, repeated by O’Neal’s character Oliver Barrett IV as a tribute to Jennifer. The line was actually misspoken from the script, which read “Love means not ever having to say you’re sorry.”

“The quotation was voted #13 in the American Film Institute’s list AFI’s 100 Years … 100 Movie Quotes.”

Wikipedia
Love Story Quote
Image
______________________________________________

This is my second attempt at the poetry form: Triolet.
8 lines, 8 syllables each
The 1st, 4th and 7th lines are the same, as are the 2nd and 8th

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011

Carry On Tuesday
Prompt this week: The last words spoken in the film “Love Story”
Include all or part of: “Love means never having to say you’re sorry”

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Triolet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Love means never having …

  1. Ooopppsss …. forgot –
    How is your doggie??? I hope much better.
    YES – I hope to be posting again …
    missed the bolg world.
    Hugs ….

  2. This is a fun write, becca. I enjoyed it very much. You should
    do a few more.
    I have to agree with PAt – I was laughing when I saw the pix.
    Well done …
    Izzy xoxox

  3. Pat Cegan says:

    Great poem, and love the format. I must try it. I laughed so much when I saw the picture as I always have cold feet. I always thought my exhusband was a dear when he would get my feet warm even when he was angry with me. Hugs, pat

  4. lolamouse says:

    I agree with the cold feet but I never liked that movie quote. Since when do you get a pass on apologizing just because you love someone?

    • Becca Givens says:

      I was mesmerized with the quote initially (probably, had to do with my age), but as I “grew up”, and as we just celebrated our 20th anniversary – you do indeed need to realize the importance of apologizing on occasion and/or compromising on others! Thank you for the visit.

  5. trisha says:

    very true indeed. beautiful poem, loved the picture you added.

  6. Lisa says:

    One should never have to say your sorry for cold feet. LOL I loved your post.

    Lisa
    InspiredbyLisa

  7. Chimnese says:

    You have carried out this quote with the poem very well…and its so true, even true the silence the person you love should feel it and know it…

    • Becca Givens says:

      Thank you Chimnese … I was surprised I came out with humor in the quote … but I realize more and more … not to take love for granted, anymore than you would of a friendship … and the importance of offering an apology when the time arises … although a spouse, they are ultimately an individual as well. So with respect, one should not be too proud to offer an apology or accept one, as the occasion arises! Thank you for stopping by. I enjoyed by visit to your site.

  8. This sums up love perfectly for me! :-)

  9. John says:

    Wow Becca, I love this one! Where do you find these illustrations/photos?? This one has a humorous flair and the words fit together just right. “Cold feet at night,” that is cute. And funny, too. You are very talented Becca, have fun with it and best wishes and happy creativity.

    • Becca Givens says:

      Google is a great resource, John … I search until something pops out!
      This one is different for me … humor rarely comes out in my “messages” … but this one quickly evolved into it … I guess because of the prompt!

"I would love your feedback!"

