~ Cookbooks ~


Other than specific day/date celebrations in “Today in Food History”, {for example, OCTOBER 6 is National Noodle Day}, there are a variety of general Food History Celebrations each month … “Who Knew?”

Although several caught my attention for October, National Cookbook Month hits very close to heart and home.

I love, love, love collecting cookbooks (and yes, I actually use them).  I enjoy perusing through them; similar to reading a novel, from front to back.  I place sticky notes of recipes I want to try on the front of the cover. For quick reference I highlight the tried recipes in the index.

After preparing a new recipe, I make notes of changes and if the recipe is considered a “keeper” or “do over”!  I am one of those cooks … I will try new recipes on guests! :-)

Over the years, I have culled nearly half of my collection … I removed those books I never used or lacked sentimental meaning as well as the unneccesary ones.  Yet, I still need another baker’s rack to hold the tried and trues of my cookbooks!!

To curb my fetish for cookbooks, I had to put on the brakes!  My solution:  I curtail my selections to collecting to cookbooks from travels – with a general fondness for the local Junior League, Junior Auxiliary or Homemakers versions, unless a specific one catches my eye and won’t let go until I acquire it!

In honor of Cookbook Month, why don’t you treat youself, your family and your beloved cookbooks … take one off the shelf, dust it off if (it has been awhile), open the pages and select a recipe to prepare this week!!

Let me know what you prepared!! I will enjoy it by osmosis!! YUM!

Additional month long celebrations in October include the following ~~

OCTOBER IS:

______________________________________________
Photos (cartooned version) courtesy of my kitchen collection!!

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ~ Cookbooks ~

  1. MMMmmmmm ….. YUM …..!!!!!
    Okay – so I have to share a delicious recipe I made that was my Grandmothers.
    Spicy Chorizo Rice
    ingredients –
    olive oil or canola oil
    1 cup rice
    2 chorizo sausage (remove casing)
    1 cup tomatoe sauce
    1 vegetable or beef broth ( depends on how much of a meat taste you want)
    1/2 cups water
    Chopped red & green pepper, shallot ( your choice how much)
    chopped garlic – (I don’t measure I love lots – so you decide)
    oregano, parsley, salt, pepper pinches or more

    Prep –
    saute chopped red and green peppers, garlic, shallot in the oil until they look tender. Add each one to the pan in order of color- white being the first ( ie: shallot, garlic, green pepper, etc)
    before they are totaly tender – add the chorizos – without the casing (be sure to chop it up as it is in the pan) next add oregano, parsley, salt, pepper. add rice, stir, add broth, add water. stirring
    the entire time. Now …. once it starts to come to a slow boil – cover and lower the temperature to medium low. – for those who have a # on their stove it is around 3. Simmer covered until the liquid is absorbed. When the liquid is absorbed uncover and with a fork fluff rice a little. Lower the temperature to low and cook like this until the rice is tender. (maybe 20 minutes) Once tender – the rice is done. Delicious with black beans or red beans and a side avocado salad.

    Emjoy … Buen Apetito…!!!
    Isadora

    • becca givens says:

      Oh, Izzy — thank you so much for sharing this with me … I look forward to preparing it … we love chorizo and black beans. Growing up in South Louisiana – anything with rice, garlic and shallots – is bound to be a winner!!! xooxo YUM YUM!!

    • This sounds mouthwatering.. and I may give this a go …… the only ingredients I dont have are the sausages.. thank you Isadora…

  2. laurie kolp says:

    Mmm… sounds like a fantastic idea. I get in such a rut with cooking.

    Thanks for your encouragement, Becca.

  3. My mouth is watering all ready.. Unfortunately I lack time- I know its an excuse, But it allows my Hubby to cook and he loves cooking.,.. and Love Letting him.. :-) … With me working all hours on different shift patterns and sometimes I dont come home for 24 hours.. Im all for him cooking me a meal… But I love to bake cakes and one of my favourite is Gingercake or Parkin.. with black treacle and golden syrup and plain flour and spiced Ginger.. .. Hummmm now you have me started, Its my day off tomorrow, and I have all the ingredients.. so.. Becca.. I may call back and submitt you the recipe.. if you like… it goes down a treat with a cup of tea.. :-) Impressive collection you have of cook-books Becca…

    • becca givens says:

      Oooh, that sounds yummy – and I would love the recipe!! Now my mouth is watering!
      Thank you ~~ :-)

      • Hi Becca, I wrote it out for you here,, in fact Ive just got one out of the oven and it smells
        yummy too..
        Gingerbread Slab.
        Makes 20 to 24 slices.
        125g(4oz) Black Treacle
        125g(4oz) Golden Syrup
        50g(2oz) Butter or block margarine
        50g(2oz) Lard
        225g(8oz) Plain Flour
        1.25ml ( ¼ Teaspoon) Bicarbonate of Soda
        5ml(1teaspoon) mixed spice
        5ml( 1teaspoon) ground ginger
        100g(4oz) Dark soft brown sugar
        150ml( ¼ pint) Milk

        1- Grease an 18-cm (7inch) square cake tin, Base line with greaseproof paper and then brease the paper
        2- Put the black treacle, golden syrup, butter or margarine and lard in a saucepan and heat gently just to melt the mixture, ( Don’t let it boil ) take off heat.
        3- Sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda and spices into a large bowl and stir in the sugar
        4- Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the milk and the treacle mixture. Beat well until smooth and of a think pouring consistency.
        5- Turn into the prepared tin and bake in the oven at 170degs(325 F ) Mark3 for 1Hr to 1 ¼ hrs or until a fine warmed skewer inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean.
        6- Cool in the tin for 1hr . remove from tin, wrap and store for at least two days in an airtight tin before eating ( if you can resist it that it lol ) Serve sliced into squares, eat either plain or buttered.

      • section 1- is supposed to say GREASED lol not breased hehe!

        • becca givens says:

          Thank you so much for the recipe, and the conversion :-) Sounds yummy!! Now all I have to do is figure out what is black treacle and “golden” syrup!! My mouth is watering!
          I appreciate the time you took to do this ~~ Have a blessed week! xoxo

  4. I too always try new recipes on guests!

    • becca givens says:

      They are the best crowd to give an opinion … if it is a bomb, I offer a PBJ or grilled cheese!!! – then Tippy, Utah and Chloe are always eager to accommodate by consuming their human mom’s fares!!

"I would love your feedback!"

