Flaming Locks






Showers of sweet love
Flaming locks of auburn hair
Attached memories




______________________________________________

I wrote this Senryu before searching for an image, as is the usual case.  Part of the fun/challenge for me is searching for just the right image after I complete my piece.

My initial idea for an image was different.  Yet, in my search, this image caught my eye … maybe because of my fondness for the illustration.

I could have left it at that … but it seemed a shame not to expound on the illustrator — since I collect his work.  So … that being said … this has become a two part post — not related to each other — except through the image.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is one of the famous images of the American illustrator Harrison Fisher.

Known as “The Father of A Thousand Girls”, Harrison Fisher (1875-1934), became noted for his ability to draw beautiful women.  His Fisher girls became rivals to those of Gibson and Christy.  The American Girl was a favorite theme for the “Puck” magazine, and Fisher did cover illustrations for most of them.   Fisher also illustrated for Hearst publications, the most widely circulated in the country at the time, which made the illustrator very famous.  He was a top cover artist for “Cosmopolitan”.   He also did covers for “Saturday Evening Post”, “Scribners”, “Life” and other magazine work, and for some time, there was scarcely a leading publication that did not have his work.  His work is also featured in old novels, postcards, and on tins.

Ray’s mother and her sister collected Harrison Fishers for years.  My collection started with a few as wedding gifts from them.  Over the years, my collection has grown to over 100 of his “girls”.   The majority of my collection hangs throughout our home, although I still have a few needing frames as well as space to enjoy them.  In the room where most of my work is written, I am surrounded by at least 20 framed “Fisher Girls”. :D

Here are a few of his lovelies to enjoy and get a “feel” for his style

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

______________________________________________

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012




Lock
(147)

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Haiku/Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Flaming Locks

  1. marousia says:

    Love the way the past is grounded in the moment

  2. amazing image… and amazing words…. true delight..

  3. granbee says:

    Dear Becca, you have made me cry with joy, for my auburn-haired mother loved these Fisher girl images and often confessed to me that she had wanted to look like these girls as a teenager and young adult woman and new mother. We did so very much enjoy going through old magazines at my grandmother’s house and my great-aunt’s house while my mother described dresses she had her gifted, clothes-designer mother make for her proms and her recitals and graduations.

    • becca givens says:

      I am so glad you know of HF … my grandmother grew up in the day as well … among her many “professions” during the time, she was a seamstress … she made my mother and aunt’s evening gowns, and made all of mine for Mardi Gras and dances … beading, ruffles etc. I wish I had known about him while she was alive – I would have loved to hear what she thought of his work. Thank you, granbee for your generous and heartfelt comments and feedback. xoxo

  4. Amber says:

    Nice one, Becca. :)

  5. Lovely senryu and very pretty images :)

  6. Sanjana says:

    very good use of “lock” here..enjoyed reading..thanks for sharing :)

  7. souldipper says:

    Loved this post, Becca. Your Haiku speaks volumes and I especially loved learning about Harrison Fisher. In your slide show, I LOVE the one with four people: A woman in a blue hat, a man in a brown Fedora, a woman reading a red covered book and an obscure man. The woman with the book! What a snear! That could be fodder for a great story!

  8. tigerbrite says:

    Enjoyed both the poem and the girls :)

  9. wightrabbit says:

    Just popped back to look at the slideshow, Becca – what sensual, yet understated imagery. No wonder you love his work! :)

  10. Lovely haiku and awesome illustrator ~ another romantic haiku ~ well crafted ~ thanks, ^_^
    (A Creative Harbor)

  11. Libby says:

    Lovely Senryu and thanks for the wonderful images.

  12. 4joyjoanne says:

    Photo – lovely; Haiku – wonderful; Afterwords – very interesting…..I usually find a photo/image first, and get my inspiration from that; maybe I’ll try your way……

  13. Maharukh says:

    I had a tough time searching for pics today, lovely haiku :0

  14. vivinfrance says:

    Number 1: the haiku is lovely, and reminded me of my grandmother who had gorgeous long red hair as a girl in the 1890’s. She worked in a fancy French lingerie shop in London, and in her spare time she modeled fn competitions for the hairdresser next door .

    Number 2: I adored the slide-show. My favourite is the girl with the horse – Fisher painted girls beautifully, but boy that horse’s head is good!

  15. Grace says:

    We share the same thought process, finding the right picture for me is a must ~

    I love the pictures and backgrounder, very distinct time pieces ~

    http://everydayamazin.blogspot.ca/2012/06/door.html

  16. Pat Cegan says:

    I was not familiar with these illustrations. What a treasure they are. You never cease to amaze me, BB, with your breath of interests. I love you and I love your beautiful blog! hugs, pat

  17. Attached memories!…Lovely feel in the haiku…Beautiful one !

  18. pranita says:

    Same here… i write and then the satisfaction of getting an image dat has been in ur head is amazing! :)
    When waves transport to the new shore

  19. Jaideep says:

    Thanks for this innovative piece,. and images are soo beautiful!

  20. Excellent words for a beautiful image.

  21. wightrabbit says:

    This information is interesting, Becca ~ I didn’t know the history behind those delicatly rendered illustrations that evoke so much nostalgia. What a wonderful inspiration for your beautiful poetry! :)

    • becca givens says:

      Thank you, Jacqueline. Actually, the image came after the writing — but it took off on a tangent, or “wild goose chase” :D.

      I just added a sampling in the form of a slide show of some of his
      work.

  22. A Walk In My Heart says:

    The illustration looks exquisite and so is your haiku.

  23. Leo says:

    Thanks for the image through your words, and the information after, Becca :) He looks a very talented artist, the illustration is beautiful.

    • becca givens says:

      Thanks, Leo. I didn’t know when I wrote the Haiku, it would lead to the additional information. However, after finding this image under auburn hair … the rest took a life of its own. :D I appreciate the visit.

"I would love your feedback!"

