Banana Nut Muffins

Over the past several days, I have received at least 50+ spam comments using Banana Nut Muffins as the “catch phrase”; some hilarious while others not fit for respectable eyes, but none of them, having anything to do with muffins — banana or otherwise!

After eliminating the most recent batch, and since I have numerous over-ripe bananas on my counter, I decided I would look for a recipe for Banana Nut Muffins to make it relative.  Besides, I need a Sunday afternoon snack for my cup of tea!

:D

I found this Banana Nut Muffin recipe on Taste of Home website.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup mashed ripe banana
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts (or other nuts)

Directions

  • In a small bowl, cream butter and sugar.  Beat in the egg, banana and vanilla.  Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda and cinnamon; add to creamed mixture just until moistened.  Fold in walnuts.
  • Coat muffin cups with cooking spray or use paper liners; fill two-thirds full with batter. Bake at 350° for 23-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack.  Serve warm.

    Yield: 
    6 muffins.

Enjoy!!


______________________________________________

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Banana Nut Muffins

  1. dani says:

    i love when you post recipes! and perfect timing ~ i have to have groceries delivered now that i’m not driving. i ordered three bananas and they sent me six! i know what i’ll be baking tomorrow! ♥

  2. Geraldine says:

    some yummy spam eh LOL, much better than SPAM. ;)

  3. Gosh .. I thought it was just me getting those Spams.
    I love the way you turned it into something humorous.
    These look delicious. I will have to make them for my
    hubby who is addicted to banana’s. Thanks for posting
    the recipe, Becca.

  4. granbee says:

    Becca, you put me right back at my grandmother’s kitchen table, nibbling on the crumbs of that first banana nut muffin out of her magic oven!

  5. Damn! this remind me of the best banana nut cupcake I’ve ever tasted… made by a friend… I’m not one for baking, but I am one for eating for sure! : ) guessing all the banana muffin spam were good for something … who’d thought they can inspire!? :-)

  6. Misky says:

    Wow, those look absolutely fantastic. :D

  7. souldipper says:

    I’ve also been receiving the banana spam. When I saw your title, I said, “What?! It hasn’t been you, Becca!!” LOL.

    • becca givens says:

      I don’t know what with the Banana Nut Muffin ~~ I’ve received more today — but of course, not yet on this post! LOL Glad (or not) I am not the only one in the banana boat!! :D

  8. Raven says:

    You are too funny! How many did you eat?

  9. rumpydog says:

    what a coincindence… been craving a banana muffin.

  10. Sounds Yummy Becca and I have all of those ingredients too I will be back in the week to take another look at this recipe.. as I have some days off mid week… and my baking tins are empty ;-) xx

  11. shoreacres says:

    This is hilarious – I’ve gotten maybe 75 banana nut muffins spam-o-licious comments! The only good thing about them is they stirred you to post your recipe, which I’ve copied and intend to try for myself! Thanks!

    • becca givens says:

      :D … YEA, at least I have a positive Banana Nut Muffin comment I can relate to … reading the recipe (as I like to do … similar to reading a novel) … I can tell this is a delicious and easy one! ENJOY!!

"I would love your feedback!"

