Heart Loving and Strong





Sweet brown eyes clouded
Back legs wobble with stiffness
Heart loving and strong







Tippy, the matriarch of the canine and feline family, is approaching 15 years old.  She is battling a bout of a canine virus.  It is taking its toll on her (and me).  Our quarantine has made me realize how precious her life and the contribution of joy she has given our lives.  Although her body is rebelling, her heart and spirit are strong and loving.  She won’t turn down belly rubs and rarely turns down treats.
She tells me “it’s hell turning old!!”
At this point, I tend to agree with her!
:D
______________________________________________
© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Animal Talk, Haiku/Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Heart Loving and Strong

  1. Raivenne says:

    Succinct and all the more heartfelt for it. What a sweet face. Tippy is as lucky to have you as you are to have her.

  2. Old Raven says:

    How lucky Tippy is to have you. Becca, you are a teacher of love to this world. By the way … turning old? Tippy is correct. May her days be filled with comfort and without pain.

  3. A hug to Tippy and to you dear Becca.

  4. becca givens says:

    Both, Tippy and I thank each of you for your loving responses, remembrances, well wishes, healing energies and prayers. Tippy is beginning to perk up some. Her eyes are not nearly as sad, and she had her smiling face this afternoon as she basked in the sun on the deck. Of course, she is always ready for tummy rubs!!! :D She is an inspiration!!

    She asked me to tell each of you, thank you for the cheering – on!!

  5. Renee Espriu says:

    I wish you both well and hope that she give you some good days yet. It is difficult to get old. I agree with her all the way.

  6. nerima says:

    Tippy is amazing to be 15 years old.
    My heart aches for geriatric animals. There is something so poignant about them.
    God bless you and Tippy.

  7. I’m sorry your doggy doesn’t feel well! Well wishes from me and Athens!

  8. granbee says:

    Oh, Becca, I am so very glad Sue Windwalker pointed the way to you! I, too, am a total pushover for all animals. The wild ones love me, talk to me. My own gang (now 5 dogs, 1 cat–most from in-laws who, bless their little pea-pickin’ hearts, are CLUELESS) are just so bonded with us and each other. I have found that is very critical to good, contented pets–they need fellowship with others of their own kind, especially if they have been left alone a lot, isolated without actually being mistreated or abandoned. There are a lot of folks out there (non-artists and poets, of course) who just are not blessed with that gene that allows them to communicate nonverbally with their fellow creatures! What do you think? Oh, really, enjoyed this post about you nursing your older dog with the cold. So wonderful for you to have each other, right?

  9. Bless her and you. My dog is 10 and I notice small differences. 15 is amazing! Love this! Laurie

  10. Sending you both positive thoughts of wellness!

  11. Leovi says:

    Poor, 15 years is already a great age, I wish him well in his illness.

  12. dani says:

    what a precious member of your family! i hope she’s feeling better soon. ♥

  13. What a sweet face. 15! That’s incredible. I shall add her to my prayers.
    (I can’t make out the current picture.)

"I would love your feedback!"

