The Tree

Unearthed from a collection found in my attic
~ Dated 3-12-1972 ~

Seed

Growth

Young tree

Growth

Firm

Beautiful

Majestic

Growth

Reaching out

Protective

Union of pieces – home

Bearing

The tree …

Birth

Growth

Young man

Growth

Firm, strong

Meek, mild

Compassionate

Merciful

Reaches out

Protective

Union of men

Bearing

Love – eternal home

The Man – The Tree
Together – the Tree of Life
Nails – Saws
Dead!

Dead

Only in appearance and in physical sight

The tree bore a flower which bore a seed – for another growth

The man bore love which bore a soul – a soul of eternal growth
______________________________________________

In remembrance of Good Friday!

“Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we,
being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed.”

Bible, I Peter 2:24

______________________________________________

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012


About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Free verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Tree

  1. granbee says:

    Wow, Becca, you wrote this one year and one month prior to the birth of my oldest, my dear daughter! This was a time when I was writing these sorts of things, as well–and occasionally getting them into church newsletters, community “free” papers, little mags! This is a truly wonderful comparison of the life of the tree (from which the Cross was made) and the life, death, and resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ! You were really masterful with short, pungent line forms of poetry in 1972! In fact, I believe we were still living in officers’ quarters at Wright-Patterson AFB at this time, soon moving to Oak Ridge, TN, where my daughter was born the next spring! Seedlings, new beginnings, new blessing, sacrifices, travels, teachings, ministries–so many blessed memories and so many inspiring scripture lessons. You cannot know how much you have blessed me today as I play “catchup” with all my blogging friends. I had SUCH a busy schedule of Holy Week and Easter holiday/weekend activities–all bringing many blessings. I deliberately waited until today to post my last Lenten Journey post, for I needed to get past the “highs” of Easter weekend to do so. Trust me!

    Like

  2. I really like the way you crafted this, Becca, so timely to be meditating on. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Geraldine says:

    and what a beautiful remembrance it is. seems there’s so little said about the true meaning of this day any more….I remember it quite differently as a child.

    Hugs, G

    Like

  4. siggiofmaine says:

    Awesome.
    Wonderful words. Like the presentation.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"