Dig in and Dig Out


Dense growth shows neglect
Torturous chore of weeding
Trash cans filling fast

Trash cans filling fast
Pruners, shovels, rakes and gloves
Dig in and dig out

Dig in and dig out
New canvas developing
Garden happiness



I have spent the past few days outdoors in our “pitiful and neglected garden” … weeding.  This is a gardening chore I abhor.  A B H O R !!!!  😀

Weeding creates a situation causing me to miss my sweet departed Daddy, all the more.  He use to visit me each spring to assist me in the yard … in order to “shape up” the yard.  Weeding was his specialty.  Whether he enjoyed the process or not, I am not sure.  However, he always made it seem like he did.

With days and days of weeding ahead, due to neglect on our part, and the result of the last summer’s drought, I’ve had to psyche myself into tackling the chore, OR I would be tempted to turn around and immediately “return to the house”. 🙂

So, my surviving technique is to use the activity as a form of meditation.  I connect with Mother Nature allowing my mind to go completely blank.  It makes the time go faster, giving me appreciation for the progress and energy for another day.

Of course, I have constant supervision.  Ya-Ya and Jazzy are keeping me company … supervising from a distance.  Each turning their bodies as I move about, or following me in order to keep me within eyesight.  They do not get too close for fear I will put them to work.  😀

    

In the meantime, I have filled 7 trash cans full of dead grass, weeds, vines with thorns,  trash trees and sadly-departed shrubs and perennials.  I feel like I am half way through the worst part … or is it wishful thinking?  HOPE!! YEA 😀

Note to self:  Next life … house must come with a gardener!!!

______________________________________________
Image Credit

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012



Happiness


About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Haibun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dig in and Dig Out

  1. granbee says:

    Love this post, as I had to catch up with a lot of that after my hired hand (neighbor) did the huge grass mowing and edging jobs last Thursday. I really like hand-weeding because I seem to have a natural affinity for “blanking out” while doing manual choreslike this. And anytime I am outdoors, I am happy–so are my cat and dogs! Love your two felines!

    Like

  2. Asni says:

    I love gardening and I bet you get to enjoy lovely flowers after all that hard work!

    Like

  3. 7 cans and you’re only half way through? Oh my friend… this is when you hire a student to come help 😉 Not my student though – she’s too lazy! Great haiku… and good luck!!

    Like

  4. Pat Cegan says:

    Yes, weeding is a meditation…and an endless job, especially if you live in the tropics. Like your note about the next house having a gardener. Mine got hurt this week and I have been trying to ignore the fact that the rain every day is making the yard look like Jack and the Beanstalk. I may break down this weekend and do a bit of weeding meditation. Thanks for a good laugh. hugs, pat

    Like

  5. Rachael says:

    Nice haiku!
    I don’t have them any longer (:( but I used to love when my two cats would follow me around the house. Although mine liked to “help”–usually by laying across my workspace when I was crafting!

    Like

  6. Ah, the hard work of Spring. Worthwhile, though.

    Like

  7. I LOVE to weed! My Mom would pay me a penny for each weed I pulled — early early conditioning!

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      I would pay you to come weed for me!! LOL 😀 I haven’t liked weeding since childhood … I do not remember the particular circumstances around it … but I do remember not liking it back then … the investment into my own yard has eased some of the despisableness!!

      Like

    • becca givens says:

      And I have gotten pleasure out of finding those worms!! Yesterday, I thought of your post. I weeded for several hours without finding any, and then was rewarded with a few yesterday and some today! 😀

      Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"

