“Time to Say Goodbye”



Change of our life’s plans
Lofty dreams and promises
Evaporated

Poignant memories
Overstaying your welcome
Time to say goodbye




______________________________________________

Each week Carry On Tuesday will publish either a famous quotation or a line from a book, song or poem and invite you to Carry On where words stop. You may use some of the words or all of them either at the start of your piece or within the body of your work.

Carry On Tuesday # 155

 “This week I’ve chosen the English title of a well known Italian song,
Con te Partiro better known as ….”:

“Time to Say Goodbye”

Use the words in their literal or metaphorical sense at the start or within your piece”
______________________________________________

¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤

The Lyrics/Words translated in English:

Sarah Brightman

When I’m alone I dream of the horizon and words fail me.
There is no light in a room where there is no sun
and there is no sun if you’re not here with me, with me.
From every window unfurls my heart the heart that you have won.
Into me you’ve poured the light,
the light that you found by the side of the road.

Time to say goodbye.
Places that I’ve never seen or experienced with you.
Now I shall, I’ll sail with you upon ships across the seas,
seas that exist no more,
it’s time to say goodbye.

Andrea Bocelli

When you’re far away I dream of the horizon and words fail me.
And of course I know that you’re with me, with me.
You, my moon, you are with me.
My sun, you’re here with me with me, with me, with me.

Time to say goodbye.
Places that I’ve never seen or experienced with you.
Now I shall, I’ll sail with you upon ships across the seas,
seas that exist no more,

Both

I’ll revive them with you.
I’ll go with you upon ships across the seas,
seas that exist no more,
I’ll revive them with you.
I’ll go with you.

You and me.

From Wikipedia:

“Con te partirò” (literally meaning “With you I will leave”) is an Italian Classical crossover song written by Francesco Sartori (music) and Lucio Quarantotto (lyrics). It was first sung by Andrea Bocelli at the 1995 San Remo Festival and recorded on his album of the same year, Bocelli. The single was first released in 1995, topping the charts, first in France, where it became one of the best selling singles of all time, and then in Belgium, breaking the all-time record sales there.

A second version of the song, sung partly in English, released as “Time to Say Goodbye”, paired Bocelli with English soprano Sarah Brightman, and achieved even greater success, topping charts all across Europe, including Germany, where it became the biggest-selling single in history. That version alone has now sold more than 12 million copies worldwide.

Bocelli also recorded a completely Spanish version of the song, titled “Por ti volaré”.

The song, under all three versions, is considered Bocelli’s signature song.”
______________________________________________

Image Credit

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012

from the archives


About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Haiku/Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Time to Say Goodbye”

  1. A wonderful poem, beautiful music and lyrics.. thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. gs batty says:

    excellent…bravo…thank your for a beautiful moment in my life

    Like

  3. Subhan Zein says:

    I love this song! You may want to hear our Sarah Brightman to be: A 14 year old! 🙂

    It’s here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziyWoYYU6dU

    Subhan Zein

    Like

  4. I love the image paired with the idea of memories evaporating, Becca. Great writing!

    Like

  5. “Evaporated” is such a great description for dreams and promises that have been cast aside. Love this!!

    Like

  6. Pat Cegan says:

    Thank you so much for including the words and music to this beautiful piece. It brought tears to my eyes. Your blog is so very special, BB. hugs, pat

    Like

  7. whimsygizmo says:

    Love the visual of a dream “evaporating.” Powerful.

    Like

  8. granbee says:

    You certainly spoke here to an issue preoccupying many of your followers with this particular setting of “Time to Say Goodbye”. Time to cut your losses, you seem to be saying. I just never cease to be amazed at all the “challenges” you seem to discover, Becca!

    Like

  9. I hate goodbyes too. Nicely done Becca. 🙂

    Like

  10. siggiofmaine says:

    The photo and you wonderful poetry…a joy.
    Thank you,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  11. A Walk In My Heart says:

    Thank you Becca for the additional info on the song. I am a fan of Andrea Bocelli and Sarah Brightman and it’s so nice to listen to this song again this morning.

    Like

  12. Lovely, Becca. I hate to say good-bye in any form and really would miss these carry on tuesday prompts! Regards, Laurie

    Like

  13. leahJlynn says:

    I hope to join you all next week.
    And I so hate that time at the end of a relationship.

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"

