Wings – Ese’s Shoot n Quote

 

“If you were born without wings, do nothing to prevent them from growing.”
~ Coco Chanel

Ese's Shoot n Quote (29) - Wings

Ese’s Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge:
Wings

______________________________________________
Profile of author

Gabrielle Bonheur “Coco” Chanel (August 19, 1883 – January 10, 1971) – was a pioneering French fashion designer whose modernist philosophy, menswear-inspired fashions, and pursuit of expensive simplicity made her an important figure in 20th-century fashion.  She was the founder of the famous fashion brand, Chanel.  Her extraordinary influence on haute couture was such that she was the only person in the field to be named on Time Magazine’s 100 most influential people of the 20th century.

I want to update the profile and add … According to Wikipedia: “Chanel’s highly competitive, opportunistic personality led her to make questionable life choices which have generated controversy around her reputation, particularly her behavior during the German occupation of France in World War II.”

______________________________________________

Previous:   Ese’s Shoot n Quotes

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2014

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Photos, Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wings – Ese’s Shoot n Quote

  1. I also remember reading that she was a Nazi sympathizer with a strong dislike of Jews, believing they were a Bolshevik threat to Europe.

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      I am familiar with the name and the perfume, as I have had a very fashion oriented sister-in-law in our lives, at one time. That is the extent of my knowledge of Chanel. So, I am not familiar enough with her and her philosophy on life. I would dislike this aspect of her view on life. Thank you for the heads up – I will check into it. Also, thanks for the visit.

      Like

      • I don’t know why but I just recently heard this, that’s why it stuck in my mind. Maybe there’s a new book out about her and that’s why I heard or read it!

        Like

        • becca givens says:

          According to Wiki – “Chanel’s highly competitive, opportunistic personality led her to make questionable life choices which have generated controversy around her reputation, particularly her behaviour during the German occupation of France in World War II.” … with further remarks made … “Chanel’s friend and biographer Marcel Haedrich provided a telling estimation of her wartime interaction with the Nazi regime: “If one took seriously the few disclosures that Mademoiselle Chanel allowed herself to make about those black years of the occupation, one’s teeth would be set on edge.””

          Tsk tsk tsk!!! 😦

          Like

          • Guess I’m just not opportunistic. I have made a few questionable life choices in my past, but I’ve never talked bad about any group of people. Maybe individuals, but never groups in general! (I don’t think!)

            Like

            • becca givens says:

              Me either, Emilio. I have made some questionable choices as well … I think it is a part of the journey to maturity and wisdom. Although, I catch myself at times on the contrary, I strive not to make derogatory comments in my daily life about groups and/or individuals. It does not strengthen my inner peace to do so. Thank you for the heads up; I’ve added an update on the author profile. 😀

              Like

  2. y. prior says:

    cool quote -and nice factoids about Chanel – 🙂

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"

