Fairies Clap

pixie dust
drifts
covering me
charmed
I reach out to grasp
iridescent glittering and light
giggles
erupt within my soul
my laughter escapes
fairies clap

______________________________________________
Image Credit

This is my first attempt to write in Pi-Ku form. I chose the long version.

According to Some Novel Ideas Blog (classroom curriculum) on activities to celebrate National Pi Day 3-14 … “So, what is Piku?, it’s a poem of sorts, like a haiku.  But instead of the 5-7-5 format of haiku, Piku uses pi as its base.  The number of syllables in each line of the poem corresponds to the numbers in pi.  In other words, as pi is 3.141592653 …, the first line of the Piku contains three syllables, the second line contains one syllable, the third line contains four syllables … “  If using this formula for Pi-Ku, the total number of syllables is 39.

Other sources – use only the first 3 lines … 3 syllables for the first line, 1 syllable for the second line and 4 syllables for the third.

______________________________________________

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Pi-Ku and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fairies Clap

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    I like the two pi-ku poems a lot. And thanks for the explanation…it sort of rings a bell, but don’t think I’ve tried it. Love the challenge of making syllables fit a cadence.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  2. love the joy of this
    I have not seen pi-ku carried past three lines, I’ll have to try that, like the fibonacci that I love

    Like

  3. becca givens says:

    Thank you everyone for the generous feedback on my first Pi-Ku … every now and then, I want to give myself a challenge and the readers something a little different to read than my usual 17-syllables!! 😀

    I appreciate your time in reading and commenting ~~ xoxo

    Like

  4. Renee Espriu says:

    Simply beautiful! Your words transport me.

    Like

  5. Unsungpoet says:

    A very sweet poem and interesting form…I guess everything somehow revolves around numbers, doesn’t it?

    Like

  6. Mijayami says:

    Great Piku! And thanks for sharing. I’m going to keep this in mind for Pi Day 🙂

    Like

  7. Love the joy in this…I have just recently tried the Pi-Ku form…I really like it

    Like

  8. souldipper says:

    A new form to me, Becca. You obviously love these challenges. You do them so very well!

    Like

  9. ~L says:

    I love poems with pixy dust! Smiles from me… this was great!

    ~L

    Like

  10. Taylor says:

    your wording is amazing here, well penned.

    🙂

    Like

  11. I’m in admiration of you! Too much math and counting for me! Great poem, piku or not!

    Like

  12. Pat Cegan says:

    What fun, this new-to-me poetry form is. I must give it a try. You did it so well, BB. Charming as always. Hugs, pat

    Like

  13. granbee says:

    Neat, very neat. I would never have thought of a piku poem on my own. Very logical it turns out to be, of course. And your laughter escaping the fairies clap keeps me giggling! Thank you for this light-heartedness!

    Like

  14. Clever you.. I dont know what form of poetry I write Becca…. I just write it so that the last word rhymes and my lines are short or long.. Ive tried often to write poems that dont rhyme. but I cant seem to do that either.,
    Wishing you a Great Day… hope you and your all well including the animal kingdom 🙂 Love Sue xx

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"