Twinkle of Appreciation


Twinkle of Appreciation

claiming first
kiss
neath mistletoe

______________________________________________

Today was a balmy day in the midst of winter. Ray and I strolled about our yard observing the spring cleaning ahead of us. I noticed a cluster of green leaves growing on one of our deciduous ash trees. Ray immediately tugged me in the tree’s direction. A question suddenly sprung forth in my mind – “Could this be mistletoe?” Laughing, Ray bent forward to deliver a kiss.  I exclaimed, “This is my first kiss under mistletoe”.  We walked back to the house hand in hand, ready to enjoy our afternoon mug of coffee.

______________________________________________
© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Haibun, Pi-Ku and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Twinkle of Appreciation

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    Great post ! Mistletoe in your own yard…a year full of secret kisses. How wonderful.!

    Love the blog title and thanks for the Pi`-Ku explanation

    BTW a PS….was with Laurie…first glance Twinkies … but what ever it takes to get someone’s attention! We’d just had a Twinkies party at portrait group for a lady that immigrated from China…she’d never heard of Twinkies….I blame that. Hope you don’t take offense, but decide to collect Twinkie Twinkles !

    Peace and love,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  2. souldipper says:

    Hmmm…stolen smooches are the best!

    Like

  3. granbee says:

    Good for you and Ray! You go, girl! Your almost-haiku here (only 16 syllables with title, or did I miscount? sorry) implies so much about youth being wasted on the young, right?

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      I wrote this in the form of Pi-Ku … which in the short version is 3-1-4 syllables … in the longer version it is 3-1-4-1-5-9-2-6-5-3! I am going to try utilize Pi-Ku for each of the “Twinkles of Appreciation”!

      Like

      • Pat Cegan says:

        These are charming, BB. I am glad you introduced me to this poetry form. I love the idea of Twinkles of Appreciation. And how lucky you are to have a romantic husband. Hugs, pat

        Like

  4. Only I, Becca, read it as Twinkies at first. You know where my mind goes….lovely as usual. Laurie

    Like

  5. Awww…really sweet. Your blog title is really catchy!

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"