Mesmerizing Me







Fluorescent flicker
Tickling imagination
Mesmerizing me




______________________________________________
I find delight each time I spy summer’s twinkling beacons — fireflies.
Sadly, it seems fireflies are not as plentiful as when I was younger. 😦

Image Credit

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012


The April Heights

 3-5-3 or 5-7-5 Form

Day 23
Prompt 135
Mesmerize

Celebrating April as Poetry Month!

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Haiku/Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mesmerizing Me

  1. Pat Cegan says:

    I am so blessed to live where stars, butterflies, and fireflies and by the thousands. It certainly speaks well of our attempts to stay organic and to keep ecosystems balances. Wish I could say this is true all over, but it is not. As always, your blog delights me, BB. hugs, pat

    Like

  2. Alot of things are not the same as when we were young Becca.. Fireflies I dont see here in the UK.. They are on my to See and to Do List.. and I will… 🙂 xx Lovely xxx

    Like

  3. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Mesmerized…a good place to be!

    Mesmerize

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    I agree that it seems there are not as many fireflies. I like your haiku.

    Like

  5. Grace says:

    What a lovely firefly picture..indeed mesmerizing ~

    Like

  6. booguloo says:

    Thanks for sharing; I’ve never seen a firefly up this close.

    Like

  7. Libby says:

    Simply beautiful.

    Like

  8. Patti says:

    It’s impossible not to be mesmerized by the magic of fireflies. I wonder if it seems like there are fewer because there are more lights.

    Like

  9. artmusedog says:

    delightful haiku ~ love the light~thanks, namaste, ^_^

    Like

  10. granbee says:

    Thankfully, we have lots of fireflies in the streetside grasses and hedgerows in my neighborhood. My young Labs want each one on their noses!

    Like

  11. they ARE mesmerizing, indeed.

    Like

  12. Ramesh Sood says:

    Tickling imagination..this is beautiful..

    Like

  13. I LOVE seeing fireflies!!! but haven’t seen them yet…..i’ll be on the look out, thanks to you.

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      I haven’t seen them so far this year, either … more like June, July and August for us … we are still having some cooler weather than usual. I think of fireflies and I think of very warm night! Thanks for the stop over! 😀

      Like

  14. Beautiful thought Becca!

    Like

  15. Jaideep says:

    Really nice of you observing simple things, lovely!

    Like

  16. Misky says:

    Becca, I was going to say this is brilliant but it seemed too corny … Oops, I said it! Lovely poem as always. 🙂

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"