Sunday Trees – 29


In San Gervasio Mayan Ruins
Cozumel, Mexico


I captured several “Sunday Tree” photographs during my late March journey to the Western Caribbean (via cruise).  This one was taken during our stop-over trip to the island of Cozumel, Mexico.  The San Gervasio Mayan Ruins, in the middle of island, provided a plethora of choices.  The trees were almost as mesmerizing as the Ruins.

I will feature more shots from the Mayan Ruins and our island-hopping in upcoming Sundays.  I sincerely hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed “spotting” them.

For previous episodes of  Sunday Trees

______________________________________________

Another contribution to Sunday Trees:  visit SiggiofMaine

______________________________________________

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Trees – 29

  1. granbee says:

    Well, Becca, you have outdone yourself with this week’s Sunday Trees post. What knots these roots can weave themselves into! These trees on Cozumel must be first cousins of the Ents in The Lord of the Rings trilogy!

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      I have a few more Ruins Trees. However, I just put together a slide show of the ruins for the last Ruins Tree so they can be seen in their “surroundings”, and I have to say, as amazing as the ruins are — the trees were the highlight for me. I see so much in this one!!! Thank you, granbee!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Prompt Sunday Trees – 29 « siggiofmaine

  3. HUH – did I visit the same Mayan Ruins??? I didn’t see any of these.
    I love the way two people can vacation at the same place and see different
    things of interest. Great tree and post, Becca.

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      Izzy — this was the smaller ruin smack dab in the middle of the island of Cozumel, rather than the larger ruin in the area … most of these shots were taken on the longer version route (at one point I thought we were lost)… I really should include a slide show of the ruins themselves … I do have a few of those … although, the trees caught my eyes throughout … I couldn’t help myself! 😀

      Like

      • We went to the ruins of Chachoban which were about 1 1/2 hours each way from the pier. The ride wasn’t too bad as our guide spoke about so many interesting things about his Mayan culture. He was a true Mayan. He spoke to us in their language. I wish I had had a tape recorder. We were even stopped half way their by Federales ( Mexican police ) who came on board the bus to check for drugs. I’ve thought about posting the pix’s I have of them with their rifles. A bit scarey but very adventurous. I had just had knee surgery about 8 months before our trips so I didn’t venture some paths like my husband did. I had to sit a lot. BUT – there’s always next time and your photo’s.
        Toodles, Izzy xox

        Like

  4. Becca, wishing you a peaceful Sunday, and Im enjoying all of your photos of your Trees… We should all have a ‘Hug a Tree Day’ 🙂 Blessings sent you way .. ~Sue x

    Like

  5. A Walk In My Heart says:

    This Sunday tree looks amazing – as though a heap of human being piled on top of each other. Wonder what caused them to grow like that! Never seen anything like this before.

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"