IMPORTANT – Virus Alert

Word Map of DNS Changer infections by Country

I am taking a “station break” from usual blogging fun to spread the word about a potentially hazardous event for your home computers and lap tops.

For those who are savvy enough to know about this already, please excuse … for those who are on a “negative news diet”, and may not be aware of the approaching deadline of protection, or perhaps you are just out having fun 😀 … please take a moment to protect your cyber-communication portal!!  Deadline window is by July 9th (Monday).

Virus could black out nearly 250,000 PCs

(Reuters) – About a quarter-million computer users around the world are at risk of losing Internet access on Monday because of malicious software at the heart of a hacking scam that U.S. authorities shut down last November.

Information on how to identify and clean up infections can be found on a website that a group of security firms and other experts set up: www.dcwg.org.

Also, the FBI website:  https://forms.fbi.gov/check-to-see-if-your-computer-is-using-rogue-DNS has comprehensive instructions.

Important Note:
No downloads are necessary.


______________________________________________
© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to IMPORTANT – Virus Alert

  1. JulesPaige says:

    I actually heard this on the radio and then again on the net.news (mine being msn.com) – had my hubby check my computer last night- for this latest nasty. Thankfully I’m OK.
    I’ve been looking at your posts, as you’ve been a gracious visitor 🙂

    I enjoy your variety here. I’ve got my ‘stones’ and ‘long verse’ sites…I don’t know if I could manage another just for ‘my life’ – which might not be as trilling as what I actually write about 🙂

    Maybe after I get my place organized I’ll even get back into my ‘crafty’ mode. Cheers, and thanks.

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      JulesPaige — I admire those of you who can manage several blogs for different themes … there is no way I could keep up with several blogs, or even two … I have to juggle with time to maintain this one … LOL!!! 😀
      Thank you for your visit and generous comment. Happy week!!

      Like

  2. thanks a ton for the warning becca. bless you!

    Like

  3. souldipper says:

    Yes, I posted this on Face Book for Canadians. What a dreadful bunch to do something like this. My computer is okay.

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      😀 I am glad you posted it as well. Seems to be a very important incident as there as been more and more of it on the news. I was unaware until this morning!! And it affects everyone worldwide — not just in the Americas!!

      Like

  4. granbee says:

    Thanks so very much for the heads up,Becca!

    Like

  5. rbhexem says:

    Thanks, Becca.

    Like

  6. I read about this virus this morning… and I did run a “virus scan” of my computer…at least right now it’s okay…I haven’t backed up any of my “pages,” creations or or blog posts in several months, so maybe that would be a good idea…. I guess I’d better check out that link and see what I might do…thanks, Becca, for the “heads up”… ahhhhh, the joys of tech…wonderful, but confusing at times… : )

    Like

  7. Thank you for the warning Becca..

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"