Sketches, Images, and Impressions

Poetry Potluck Week 36 – Sketches, Images, and Impressions

I will depart trom my usual “word” entry for this week’s prompt. The subject lends itself to sharing my collection of Meditative Art.

The creation of each watercolor is painted without a preconception of the artwork’s conclusion. I follow the lead of the brushes, paint and Spirit. I only discern when the piece is complete, when I hear ‘Finished!’ No matter my stance about the piece at that point … I lay down the brushes. I am always astonished with the completed piece.

I have a name for each completed work. However, rather than listing my name for the meditative piece … I am more interested in “What do you see in it? What does it say to you? How does it make you feel?”  ~~ Please ENJOY! ~~

_______________________________________________

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011

 

 

Poetry Potluck Week 36:
Sketches, Images, and Impressions

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sketches, Images, and Impressions

  1. Ina says:

    Lovely colours, really nice!

    Like

  2. Olive Tree says:

    I love this idea of meditative art. They’re wonderful art pieces. I also love your haiku poems. Thanks for stopping by to mine too earlier. Have a wonderful week.

    Like

  3. I love the cheerful colors beautiful! I paint abstract colors too its a great way to expressive your feelings when you don’t yet have the words.

    Like

  4. Pat Cegan says:

    Clever idea to share your art as a response to the prompt. Impossible to say that I like some more than others, although #4, one of your first paintings, has always delighted me…jewels in such a lovely opaque background. Nice to know we can insert this slideshow format into WP as theirs is quite limited. I want to do more with my photography and poetry now that I am declaring a stop to my whirlwind activity of the past two months! hugs, pat

    Like

  5. This definitely something new.. And yes, I will take the time to go through each drawing you have in there and state how I feel one by one.. A good take on this week’s theme, I felt.

    Oh yes, about your question… Hmm, if you have been to my other blog, ‘The Hidden Ting’, you would probably have guessed who is Weijun… Weijun is my cousin and also very much like a younger brother. He is a chubby boy who shares a special relationship; bonding. (and) so, Weijun is his name.. 🙂

    Like

  6. Bodhirose says:

    What a perfect way to present your art for today’s prompt, Becca. I saw and felt so much–fireworks, a “school” of jellyfish floating, colorful flowers on strong green stems, a comical sun with eyelashes, hearts, love, your free spirit and joy of creativity…

    What a treat! Thank you, Becca. xoxo

    Like

  7. souldipper says:

    I really like the free style and bright colors, Becca. It’s great how you put them out there with such enthusiasm and joy. Both virtues are evident in the paintings as I look at them.

    Like

  8. Jingle says:

    authentic art,
    you are such a talented artist,
    love those sketches,

    they are elegant, one looks like gems.

    Like

  9. thingy says:

    Super idea! I think it was #4 that reminded me of colored popcorn.

    Like

  10. the colors are soothing although they are vivid but you made them a tad subdued, thus tolerable in the long run 🙂 very nice and quite talented you are 🙂
    enjoy the potluck!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/without-my-shadow/

    Like

  11. Andy says:

    Hello Becca.
    This is wonderful. I spent some time studying the images and they bring to mind the ever changing moods of the seasons. The kaleidoscope of colors is stunning.
    The slideshow is pretty impressive too.

    Nice potluck entry!

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"