Sunrise


The dew twinkled on the green blades of grass in the last moments of moonlight as I walked from the beach house onto the wide stretch of cream-colored sand. The sand was comforting and made me feel certain of a definite substance under my weight as I groped through the path of rising mist. I had overslept, just a little, and knowing Nature waits for no one I had to hurry to take my grandstand seat. It seems everything around me was encouraging my promptness. The wind blew through my auburn curls from behind me as if tugging me along. The waves breaking at the foot of my stand, kept time as they consistently flowed in and out upon one another. The seagulls’ cries, as they swooped over their breakfast, echoed, “Hurry”. With a vigorous intake of salty air, I hoisted my body eastward onto the cold damp rocks and prepared my eyes for the day’s creation. The fingertips of the sun’s early morning rays appeared from behind the pinkish-orange heavens. The brightness skimmed over the green blue vastness of water picking up every shimmering detail of life within it. As time moved quickly on, the sun’s hands and arms extended out, engulfing every beauty and form of life that thrived on her – and I was included.

______________________________________________

Unearthed during the recent attic cleaning.
Written in September 1972

Image Credit

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011

 

 

Prompt:
Saints, Monks and Meditations

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Free verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sunrise

  1. Pingback: Time Capsule!! | "On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

  2. This is gorgeous and so vivid I love the photo too!

    Like

  3. Kay Salady says:

    Lovely writing, Becca. You held me captive. Thank you!

    Like

  4. dani says:

    this is stunning! i’d love to live close to the ocean. really vivid imagery ~ i love it! ♥

    Like

  5. Jingle says:

    smiles,

    first time to see you write such long post.
    amazing work.

    Like

  6. Old Raven says:

    One can sense in this marvelous piece your youthfulness and your love for the written word. Most excellent Becca.

    Like

  7. booguloo says:

    You know … That’s some good stuff right there.

    Like

  8. Mickie Brown says:

    You should clean your attic more often!!! What a lovely “find”. Beautiful–make that “amazingly beautiful” photo of the sunrise ,and your writing is exquisite. Mickie 🙂

    Like

    • Becca Givens says:

      Alas, I still have more to do … hopefully, I will discover some other uplifting gems … some of the pieces amongst this one – are too dark for me these days. This is a good sign, I believe. Thank you for your visit. It is always a pleasure! 🙂

      Like

  9. That’s awesome! What a great thing to unearth!

    Like

  10. Pat Cegan says:

    Well, dearest BB, you never cease to amaze and delight me. I was on the beach with you when I read this. I love to walk the beach at sunrise and sunset and miss that sometimes. There is a calming energy to this quiet time that you capture so well. I look forward to more of this other layer of Rebecca! Hugs, pat

    Like

  11. Le-Leigh says:

    Beautiful! I believe you have unearthed yourself as well! I look forward to your post every morning!

    Like

  12. siggiofmaine says:

    When I opened the post,
    the photo of the sunrise took my breathe,
    the words ”
    ….and knowing Nature waits for no one”
    struck a cord I know so well…
    you never get a second chance with mother nature
    I found out.
    .
    Thank you for the amazing photo
    and eloquent word picture.
    .
    Peace. Siggi on the rocky coast of Downeast Maine

    Like

  13. Laurie Kolp says:

    Captivating and mysterious… I love the way you painted such a lovely beach scene.

    Thanks so much for the comment on my interview at Poetic Bloomings. = ) You inspire me, too!

    Like

  14. GD says:

    Beautiful writing (as always), and great picture accompanying it. Thanks for this post!

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"