Inhaling Clouds at Twilight

I caught the lion
Moving stealthily across skies
Inhaling clouds at twilight
Within moments he changed

He captured my attention
I traveled to childhood
Dreams of long ago
Reappearing through memory’s veil
______________________________________________

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011

As a participant in the Thursday Poet’s Rally of Promising Poets’ Poetry Cafe, I am honored to be a recipient of

The Perfect Poet Award for Week 47
for the entry
Living in Your Light

I thank Jingle and  Promising Poets’ Poetry Cafe for the continued support and encouragement in each poet’s endeavor.

Please visit my nomination:  Nadira of nadirafromkannur for “When the mountains meditate” as well as the well deserving poets recognized in this week’s rally: complete list of the winners.

Sojourn to discover Week 47 Fresh Poets To Explore and talented participants in Thursday’s Poet’s Rally.


About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in 4 x 4 poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Inhaling Clouds at Twilight

  1. Changing every minute to take a new form. ..clouds can really let our imaginations wander , just as they do across the skies. Great that you still have that child in you who can conjure up images of the lion inhaling clouds at twilight. And I am so touched by your nomination. Thanks a ton. But that places a huge responsibility on me:-(

    Like

  2. Pingback: Inhaling Clouds at Twilight {via becca givens at “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”} | haiku love songs

  3. dani says:

    i agree with Gemma “Such a magical line…inhaling clouds at twilight!” this is one of my very favorite of your poems, becca! just stunning! ♥

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      It was just one of those moments where the line came before the rest of it … hence I knew this would be my first attempt at 4×4! Thank you, dani for all of your support and generous comments. xoxox

      Like

  4. Such a magical line…inhaling clouds at twilight! Lovely!

    Like

  5. siggiofmaine says:

    I LOVE looking at clouds and seeing “life” in them…
    your poem is perfect.
    Thank you for sharing.
    ☮ ♥. Siggi on the Downeast Coast of Maine

    Like

    • Becca Givens says:

      Siggi – it is something I loved to do when I was younger … then sadly, I forgot about it. Recently, I have been trying to be more mindful of its importance in play and imagination. I was filling the water bowl for my “puppies” last night – and I looked up and immediately saw him … I ran inside to grab my camera and almost missed him … he changed that quickly. It still was fun to enjoy as the water bowl overflowed. 😀

      Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"