Crocus


Crocus in snow

______________________________________________
Image Credit

© rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2013

Logo - Carpe Diem - January 2013


Prompt:
Crocus

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Haiga, Haiku/Senryu and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Crocus

  1. Awesome haiga on ‘crocus’ Becca. Thank you for sharing with Carpe Diem.

    Like

  2. wightrabbit says:

    This beautiful example of nature flourishing in extreme conditions makes me smile too, Becca! Delightfully surprising words and great picture to accompany them! 🙂

    Like

  3. Andrew Brobyn says:

    I would’ve thought the snowman’s smile would melt into a frown.

    Like

  4. elleceef says:

    I love crocuses …it will be awhile before we see them here. Perfect haiku to match. 🙂

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I really don’t know much about crocus. I don’t remember them in Iowa, and they don’t seem to be around here. Do they really pop up through the snow like that? Amazing! They must be hardy little things!

    Like

    • becca givens says:

      Yes they can — quite sturdy little specimens … heralding in early Spring. They are among the first flowers to bloom. Mine bloom before my daffodils. I don’t know about the comparison of bloom time to tulips … I keep saying I will plant tulips, and up til now, I keep forgetting to plant them in the fall. I will put it on my calendar for planting this year.

      Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"