Chilled



To the bone I am chilled
Forlorn
Your spirit has left me alone




___________________________________________________
Written in the format of Tau Ku:
• 1st line: 6 syllables
• 2nd line: 2 syllables
• 3rd line: 8 syllables

Image Credit

© by rgb for “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea”, 2011 – 2012


Cemeteries

About becca givens

Becca is an artist, poet, and animal communicator. She delights in cooking, nurturing, and sharing a rich spiritual life with others on the Path.
This entry was posted in Haiku/Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chilled

  1. 4joy says:

    I have felt like this….not a pleasant feeling or thought, though you have made it sound so beautiful….I must google tau ku…the one word ‘forlorn’ is so powerful ….

    Like

  2. mrsupole says:

    Hi Becca,

    I think your form and words work magic with the statue in the picture. It is as if that is truly what she is saying. I wonder if there are any words on her because if not then someone should inscribe the words you have written.

    I find that is an interesting form and have never heard of it before either. You have truly done justice with it. Thanks for sharing it with all of us for this weeks Theme Thursday prompt.

    Have a great weekend.

    God bless.

    Like

  3. meriak says:

    Nice gravestone — and I’d never been exposed to tau ku before. Thanks for the intro!

    Like

  4. JulesPaige says:

    Thank you for introducing a new form, and I’ll investigate and also post this at Theme Thursday…

    tau ku

    tradition calls for me
    to leave
    one stone for you to know I came

    JP/davh

    (Will not post centered. Interesting theme. There are some wonderful artworks in cemeteries – though they are not my favorite of places. I think I read that this is the 18th storm of the season. 18 is a lucky number for some, here’s hoping luck will take Sandy out to sea. I’ll do my best to stay safe and dry – you too and any others who might be in harms way.)

    Like

  5. Beautiful and sad. i had not heard of this type of poetry but it works really well.

    Like

  6. Green Speck says:

    This sounds interesting 🙂

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    It’s such an apropos verse in some ways. I’ve made it up to Kansas City, and the front has come through, and it was COLD tonight! Well, not really cold, but in the forties and windy – enough for this southern coaster to know things had changed!

    And yet this isn’t a forlorn cold, but a bracing cold. Your words did a marvelous job of evoking that “other” cold. Well done!

    Like

  8. Poet Laundry says:

    Chilling! And nice use of this form as well.

    Like

  9. stunning image and you really gave it justice with your words.

    Like

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!"